Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Inductee; Bea Arthur

Posted by & filed under News.

Bea Arthur along with Larry Gelbart, Merv Griffin. Daniel Burke, Tom Murphy, and Sherwood Schwartz have been chosen as the latest inductees into the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame “is a special recognition for those who have made significant contributions and have left an indelible mark on the television business,” ATAS chairman and CEO John Shaffner said.

Hall of fame candidates are submitted from the academy’s membership and the industry at large to the selection committee, which votes on the final decision.

The group will be honored at a ceremony to be announced at a later date.

External referrence links ::

One Response to “Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Inductee; Bea Arthur”

  1. Rhoda

    Larry Gelbart :) I just saw him on TVLAND’s M*A*S*H Reunion shows! Brilliant! Fantastic news!

    Also tapped as inductees for the class of 2008 were Gilligan’s Island and The Brady Bunch creator Sherwood Schwartz; late talk host and game-show impresario Merv Griffin; M*A*S*H co-creator and Sid Caesar scribe Larry Gelbart; and then there’s Maude, or, more precisely, Bea Arthur, who played the anything-but-compromising feminist icon on the seminal 1970s Norman Lear sitcom


Leave a Reply